At the Welsh Open, Ross Fisher was handed a slow-play penalty. Is this the start of a slow-play revolution?
It takes something special to be handed a one-shot penalty for slow play and Ross Fisher was the recipient of that, and a £6,000 fine, at the Welsh Open.
The Ryder Cup player was one shot off the lead when he learned of the penalty at the 14th before finishing two adrift of Thongchai Jaidee. Fisher was warned at the 6th hole by the chief referee John Paramor, took 57 seconds to play his approach to the 11th before 55 seconds over a putt at the 14th was deemed the final straw.
Ironically, Paramor has tried to help Fisher in the past, giving him a video of his final round at the 2009 Open to demonstrate a less than quick routine.